
REAL ESTATE  

RECIPROCAL LICENSING AGREEMENT 

Between 

South Carolina Real Estate Commission 

And  

North Carolina Real Estate Commission 

 

WHEREAS: 

The states or jurisdictions (hereinafter “states”) named above desire to permit the granting of 
reciprocal real estate licenses for the mutual benefit of their citizens. 

 

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS UNDERSTOOD THAT: 

I. Upon satisfaction of the requirements set forth below, a real estate licensee currently 
licensed in North Carolina (“NC”) will be granted a South Carolina (“SC”) real estate 
license without being required to demonstrate additional real estate education or 
experience as follows: 

a. Individuals holding an active NC provisional broker license in good standing shall 
be eligible for a SC salesperson license upon receipt of the following: 

i. Complete SC salesperson application and application fee; 

ii. Completion of the required background checks for SC licensure; 

iii. License verification from North Carolina showing date of licensure, 
expiration date, and complete record of any disciplinary actions taken by 
the NC Commission; 

iv. Proof of completing the required 90 hours of post-licensing education 
required by NC or 90 hours of pre-licensing education required by SC; and  

v. Proof of passing the SC portion of the salesperson examination. 

b. Individuals holding an active NC broker license in good standing with less than 
three years active practice as a broker (provisional broker license not to be 
counted), shall be eligible for a SC salesperson license upon receipt of the 
following:  

i. Complete SC salesperson application and application fee; 

ii. Completion of the required background checks for SC licensure; 



iii. License verification from NC showing date of licensure, expiration date, 
and complete record of any disciplinary actions taken by the NC 
Commission; and 

iv. Proof of passing the SC portion of the salesperson examination.  

c. Individuals holding an active NC broker license in good standing with three or 
more years active practice as a broker or broker-in-charge (provisional broker 
license not to be counted) shall be eligible for a SC broker license upon receipt of 
the following:  

i. Complete SC broker application and application fee; 

ii. Completion of the required background checks for SC licensure; 

iii. License verification from NC showing date of licensure showing proof of 
three years active practice as a broker (excluding active practice as 
provisional broker), expiration date, and complete record of any 
disciplinary actions taken by the NC Commission;  

iv. Proof of completing SC’s Unit IIIA Broker Management and Unit IIIB 
Brokerage Principles courses; and 

v. Proof of passing the SC portion of the broker examination.  

II. An individual licensed in SC is eligible for licensure in NC as follows: 

a. Individuals holding an active SC salesperson, broker, or broker-in-charge license 
in good standing within the three years prior to application shall: 

i. Be eligible to receive an NC broker license upon completing the NC 
broker application, paying any applicable fees, and passing the NC portion 
of the broker examination; or 

ii. Receive an NC provisional broker license upon completing the NC 
provisional broker application and paying any applicable fees. They must 
also comply with the provisions of G.S. 93A-4(a1), which requires 
completing 90 hours of post-licensing education required by NC within 18 
months of provisional broker license issuance. 

b. Individuals holding an active SC salesperson, broker, or broker-in-charge license 
in good standing within the three years prior to application shall be able to obtain 
NC broker-in-charge (“BIC”) eligible status upon having met or performing the 
following requirements: 

i. Being an active NC broker; 

ii. Having two years of full-time NC or SC brokerage experience within the 
previous five years; 



iii. Submitting the appropriate form needed to request BIC eligible status or to 
be designated as a BIC; and  

iv. Completing the 12-hour BIC course within one year of requesting BIC 
eligible status or within 120 days after submitting the BIC designation 
form.  

III. Either state may terminate this reciprocal licensing agreement upon giving 30 days’ 
written notice to the other state. 

 

In Witness Whereof, the real estate licensing authority of each has caused this agreement 
to be executed by its respective officers. 

 

              
SC Real Estate Commission Signature   NC Real Estate Commission Signature 

Printed Name:  John Rinehart  Printed Name:      

Date:   January 25, 2024   Date:        

 

Miriam J. Baer

January 26, 2024


