South Carolina Residential Builders Commission
Frequently asked questions to become licensed as a Residential Electrical Contractor
Q. How can I obtain an application to become licensed as a Residential Electrical Contractor in the State of South Carolina?
A. Go to the Residential Builders website at www.llr.state.sc.us/pol/residentialbuilders click on Application/Forms and then click on the Electrician Application link and print the application form or contact the Residential Builders Commission at 803-896-4696 and request that and application form be mailed to you.
Q. Once I have a Residential Electrical Contractor application what is my next step?
A. Submit the completed Residential Electrical Contractor application form to the Residential Builders Commission along with the affidavit of one year of work experience (Section “C” of the application form) signed by a licensed residential builder or general contractor and a $100.00 application processing fee (certified check or money order) made payable to LLR-Residential Builders Commission.
Q. How long will it take to process my Residential Electrical Contractor application?
A. All applications will be reviewed by the Residential Builders Commission staff for accuracy and completeness within seven (7) to ten (10) business days please allow this time before checking the status of your application or check online at our website at https://verify.llronline.com . Click on the Online Services link and enter the requested information. Any application that is incomplete or the social security number is not provided or is incorrect will be returned to the applicant.
Q. Once my Residential Electrical Contractor application is approved what do I do next?
A. Once a Residential Electrical Contractor application is approved by the Residential Builders Commission staff an Examination Eligibility Letter will be mailed to the applicant. Your Examination Eligibility is valid for one year and you are allowed only three (3) attempts to pass the residential builders exam within a twelve (12) month period. You must pass the Business Management and Law Exam and the Residential Electrical Contractor Exam.
Q. Do I schedule my Residential Electrical Contractor exam and Business Management and
Law exam with LLR?
A. No. The Residential Electrical Contractor exam and the Business Management and Law Exam are administered by PSI Examination Services (PSI) and every approved applicant will schedule his/her own exam and make payment by (certified check or money order) to PSI Examination Services. You may visit the PSI website at www.psiexams.com for more information on their fees and exam services.
Q. Once I pass my Residential Electrical Contractor exam with PSI, what is my next step?
A. After you have passed the Residential Electrical Contractor Exam and the Business Management and Law Exam you must submit the following information to the Residential Builders Commission staff:
- A copy of your test results from PSI testing services.
- A certified check or money order made payable to LLR-Residential Builders Commission in the amount of $100.00 if the license is issued for more than twelve (12) months before the next renewal date. If the licensed is to be issued for twelve (12) months or less before the next renewal date a certified check or money order made payable to LLR-Residential Builders Commission in the amount of $50.00.
- A surety bond in the amount of $10,000 (original bond signed by the applicant with the power of attorney attached) the bond must be issued in the individual applicants name listed as principal and not in a company or business name.
Q. Can I obtain a SC Residential Electrical Contractor license if I am licensed in another state without having to take the SC exam?
No. South Carolina is not reciprocal with any states for Residential Electrical Licensing.
Q. I have a South Carolina Mechanical Contractors license with an Electrical classification can I obtain a SC Residential Electrical Contractor license without taking the Residential Electrical exam?
A. Yes. A Residential Electrical Contractor license can be obtained without examination if the applicant is licensed as SC Mechanical Contractor by exam with an electrical classification or has taken the Master Electrical Exam with the South Carolina Municipal Association (MASC). All applicants must submit a completed Residential Electrical Contractor license application with the documentation of the SC Mechanical Contractors license or the Master Electrical Exam from the Municipal Association, with all fees and a $10,000 surety bond for review by the Residential Builders Commission.
Q. Once I receive a SC Residential Electrical Contractor license, how often do I have to renew my license?
A. The Residential Electrical Contractors License is renewable every two (2) years before June 30, of each odd year (2013, 2015, 2017, etc.)
Q. Does the SC Residential Builders Commission recommend any schools, examination prep courses or seminars to prepare for the Residential Electrical Contractor exam?
A. No. Examination prep courses and seminars are offered by individuals, businesses and technical schools or community colleges. The licensing board for the Residential Builders Commission is not affiliated with any of these individuals and the board does not sponsor, approve or recommend any school, exam prep course or seminar to prepare for the Residential Electrical Contractor exam.
Q. If I have a current Residential Electrical Contractor license can I renew my license online?
A. Yes. To renew a current Residential Electrical Contractor license online all you need is a Master Card or Visa and your userid and password. If you have misplaced your userid and password we now have a website that will provide this information to you. Go to http://renewals.llronline.com , once you select the START LOGIN PROCESS, there is an option to click and retrieve your userid and password. Enter your social security number and email address and your userid and password will be emailed to you.