boardhome
Today's Date:

Licensure Information
Licensee Lookup
Licensure with the Board
Applications and Forms
Fees
Education
FAQ
Renew Your License
Change Your Address
Application Status
Print copy of your license

Publications
Publications
Related Links

Complaint/Board Order Information
Board Orders
File a Complaint
What Can I Expect When a Complaint is Filed Against Me?


Board Information/Laws and Policies
Laws/Policies
FOIA Requests
Minutes
Board Members
Agendas
Board Meeting Calendar

Contact Us

Telephone: (803) 896-4696
Email: contactllr@llr.sc.gov

Janet Baumberger
Administrator

Bonny Sweat
Administrative Assistant

Allison Baker
Administrative Assistant

Sherrie Roberts
Administrative Assistant

Marcus Rush
Administrative Assistant

Mary Sowell League
Advice Attorney




South Carolina Residential Builders Commission

How Can I Become a Licensed Home Builder?

To become licensed as a home builder in South Carolina, you are required to:

  • File a written application as required by the Commission.
  • Submit a certified check, cashiers check or money order for $100 for the application fee.
  • Submit an affidavit showing proof of at least one year actual experience under the supervision of a licensed builder.
  • Pass an examination given by PSI
  • Pay a $160 license fee (certified check or money order) and provide proper financial responsibility.

A license may be granted without examination to those builders in good standing in other states deemed by the Commission to have comparable exams.

The license must be renewed every 2 years.

Synergy Business Park; Kingstree Building
110 Centerview Dr.
Columbia, S.C. 29210
(803) 896-4300 | Office Hours: 8:30 a.m.- 5:00 p.,m.

Directions | Site Map | Privacy | Disclaimer | Customer Satisfaction Survey | Contact Us | Other Languages

The S.C. Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation is pleased to provide various publications in portable document format (PDF).
You will need Adobe Reader to view and print these publications.