South Carolina Residential Builders Commission
Frequently asked questions to become licensed as a Residential Builder
Q. How can I obtain an application to become licensed as a Residential Builder in the State of South Carolina?
A. Go to the Residential Builders website at www.llr.state.sc.us/pol/residentialbuilders click on Applications/Forms and then click on the Builder Application link and print the application form or contact the Residential Builders Commission at 803-896-4696 and request that an application form be mailed to you.
Q. Once I have my SC Residential Builder Application what is my next step?
A. Submit the completed application form to the Residential Builders Commission along with the affidavit of one year of work experience (Section “C” of the application form) signed by a licensed residential builder or general contractor and a $100.00 application processing fee (certified check or money order) made payable to LLR- Residential Builders Commission.
Q. How long will it take to process Residential Builders application?
A. All applications will be reviewed by the Residential Builders Commission staff for accuracy and completeness within seven (7) to ten (10) business days please allow this time before checking the status of your application online at our website http://verify.llronline.com/ Click on the Check Your Application Status link and enter requested information. Any application that is incomplete or the social security number is not provided or it is incorrect will be returned to the applicant.
Q. Once my Residential Builders application is approved what do I do next?
A. Once a Residential Builders application is approved by the Residential Builders Commission staff an Examination Eligibility Letter will be mailed to the applicant. Your Examination Eligibility is valid for one year and you are allowed only three (3) attempts to pass the Residential Builders exam within a twelve (12) month period. You must pass both the Business Management and Law Exam and the Residential Builders Exam.
Q. Do I schedule my Residential Builders Exam and Business Management and Law Exam with LLR?
A. No. The Residential Builders Exam and the Business Management and Law Exam are administered by PSI Examination Services (PSI) and every approved applicant will schedule his/her own exam and make payment (by certified check or money order) to PSI Examination Services. You may visit the PSI web site at www.psiexams.com for more information on their fees and exam services.
Q. After I have passed my Residential Builders Exams with PSI, what is my next step?
A. After you have passed the Residential Builders Exam and the Business Management and Law Exam you must submit the following information to the Residential Builders Commission staff:
- A copy of your test results from PSI testing services.
- A certified check or money order made payable to “LLR-Residential Builders Commission in the amount of $160.00 if the license is issued for more than twelve (12) months before the next renewal date. If the license is to be issued for twelve (12) months or less before the next renewal date then a certified check or money order should be made payable to “LLR-Residential Builders Commission in the amount of $80.00.
- A surety bond in the amount of $15,000 (original bond signed by the applicant with the power of attorney attached). The bond must be issued in the individual applicants name listed as principal not in a company or business name.
Q. Can I obtain a SC Residential Builders License if I am licensed in another state without having to take the SC exam?
A. Yes, you may waive the technical portion of the examination only, you will be required to take and pass the Business and Law portion of the examination. The South Carolina Residential Builders Commission has a Reciprocal Licensing Agreement with the following State for Residential Builders license only:
- North Carolina
- SC General Contractors
Q. I have a South Carolina General Contractors license by examination, can I obtain a SC Residential Builders license without taking the Residential Builders exam.
A. Yes. All applicants must submit a completed Residential Builders application with all fees and a $15,000 surety bond along with documentation of a SC General Contractors License with a building classification, for review by the Residential Builders Commission.
Q. Once I receive a SC Residential Builders License how often do I renew my license.
A. The Residential Builders License is renewable every two (2) years, before June 30, of each even year (2012, 2014, 2016, etc).
Q. Does the SC Residential Builders Commission recommend any schools, examination prep courses or seminars to prepare for the Residential Builders Exam
A. No. Examination prep courses and seminars are offered by individuals, businesses and technical schools or community colleges. The licensing board for Residential Builders is not affiliated with any of these individuals and the board does not sponsor, approve or recommend any school, exam prep course or seminar.
Q. If I have a current SC Residential Builders License can I renew my license online?
A. Yes. To renew a current Residential Builders License online all you need is a Master Card or Visa and your userid and password. If you have misplaced your userid and password we now have a website that will provide this information to you. Go to http://renewals.llronline.com , once you select the START LOGIN PROCESS, there is an option to click and retrieve your userid and password. Enter your social security number and email address and your userid and password will be emailed to you.