boardhome
Today's Date:
Board Meetings
          Calendar
          Agendas
          Minutes
          Board Members
Licensure
          Licensee Lookup
          Licensure with the Board
          Applications and Forms
          Fees
          Education
          FAQ
          Renew Your License
          Change Your Address
          Application status
          Print copy of your license
Information
          Laws and Policies
          Publications / News
          FOIA Requests
          Related Links
Complaints / Board Orders
          File a Complaint
          Board Orders
          What can I expect when a complaint
          is filed against me?
Contact Us
        Board Email:Contact.REAB@llr.sc.gov
        Board Phone:(803) 896-4630
        Administrator:Laura Smith
        Board Staff:Ty'Yona Schofield
        Board Staff:Joi Middleton, Education
        Advice Counsel:   Georgia Lewis   **
        Directions:110 Centerview Dr, Columbia SC

**The Office of Advice Counsel is responsible for
providing legal advice to all Boards, Commissions
and Panels. These attorneys do not provide legal
advice to parties outside LLR.

South Carolina Real Estate Appraisers Board

  1. Q: How many points/hours do I need to become Licensed?

    A: Two Hundred and fifty (250) points/ 2,000 hours over a period of twenty-four (24) months of logged experience needs to be submitted in order to be eligible for Licensed status.

  2. Q: How many points/hours do I need to become Certified Residential?

    A: Three hundred twelve and ½ (312.5) points/ 2,500 hours over a period of twenty-four (24) months of logged experience needs to be submitted in order to be eligible for Certified Residential status.

  3. Q: How many points/hours do I need to become Certified General?

    A: Three hundred seventy-five (375) points/ 3,000 hours with one hundred eighty-seven and ½ (187.5) points/ 1,500 hours being in nonresidential properties over a period of thirty (30) months of logged experience needs to be submitted to be eligible for Certified General status.

  4. Q: Do my points/hours accumulate?

    A: Yes. For example, you completed two hundred fifty (250) points/ 2,000 hours to become Licensed and now you want to upgrade to Certified Residential. You will need to submit an additional sixty two and ½ (62.5) points/ 500 hours.

  5. Q: I am a mass appraiser and want to use my mass points/hours to upgrade to a "fee" license. How many mass points/hours can I use?

    A: You may use forty (40) % of your mass points towards the experience requirements. For example, you are an apprentice and want to apply for the Certified Residential level using some of your mass points. You may use one hundred twenty-five (125) mass points/ 1,000 hours towards the required three hundred twelve and ½ (312.5) points/ 2,500 hours.

  6. Q: How do I log my experience?

    A: The South Carolina Appraisers Board has logs available on this website. You can click on the link for applications/forms and choose Document #135 is where you will find the logs. The logs are available in PDF and Excel format.

  7. Q: How do I apply for an FHA license?

    A: The South Carolina Appraisers Board does not regulate FHA licensing. HUD regulates FHA licensing. Their website is www.hud.gov.

  8. Q: How often is the national registry on the Appraisal Subcommittee's website updated?

    A: The registry is updated once a month. During renewals the registry is updated once a week. The registry only lists licensed and certified appraisers.

  9. Q: Who can supervise apprentices?

    A: Certified Residential, Certified General, and Certified Mass appraisers can supervise apprentices. A supervisor must be Certified for a minimum of three (3) years with no disciplinary action during the past three (3) years. A supervisor can only have three (3) apprentices under their supervision at one time.

  10. Q: What states does South Carolina have reciprocity with?

    A: As long as a non-resident Licensed or Certified appraiser can show that their license is active and in good standing in their resident state and that they have met similar requirements that South Carolina approves then a reciprocal license will be approved.

Synergy Business Park; Kingstree Building
110 Centerview Dr.
Columbia, S.C. 29210
(803) 896-4300 | Office Hours: 8:30 a.m.- 5:00 p.m.

Directions | Site Map | Privacy | Disclaimer | Customer Satisfaction Survey | Contact Us | Other Languages
Report State Agency Fraud (Office of the Inspector General)


The S.C. Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation is pleased to provide various publications in portable document format (PDF).
You will need Adobe Reader to view and print these publications.