boardhome
Today's Date:

Licensure Information
Licensee Lookup
Licensure with the Board
Applications and Forms
Fees
Education
FAQ
Renew Your License
Change Your Address
Application Status
Print copy of your license

Publications
Publications
Related Links

Complaint/Board Order Information
Board Orders
File a Complaint
What Can I Expect When a Complaint is Filed Against Me?


Board Information/Laws and Policies
Laws/Policies
FOIA Requests
Minutes
Board Members
Agendas
Board Meeting Calendar

Contact Us

Telephone: (803) 896-4686
Email: contactllr@llr.sc.gov

Roger K. Lowe
Administrator

Rhonda Jackson
Program Coordinator

Kim Long
Administrative Assistant

Georgia Lewis
Advice Counsel

Tracy Gunter
Program Assistant

Chanda Davis
Administrative Assistant

Lee English
Administrative Assistant




South Carolina Contractor's Licensing Board

Qualifications for Licensure

General and Mechanical Contractors

To qualify for licensure, an entity shall file a written application on forms approved by the Board (available on this website) and include the following:

  1. Fee
  2. Financial Statement for the Entity
  3. Technical Examination Score Sheet(s) or a Certification of Licensure Letter from a qualifying state (see Waiver Agreement).
  4. Completed Document 165 (Application)
  5. Completed Document 170 for each primary qualifying party (SC Code of Laws Take Home Exam)

All applicants must designate a primary qualifying party who is employed full-time with the applicant in a responsible management position.  The primary qualifying party must pass any required technical examination and be able to document 2 years of experience within the last 5 years for the classification(s) or subclassification(s) of work in which you are applying.
A change of an entity's name, organizational status, or federal employer identification number must be reported to the department within fifteen days.  Failure to do so results in license cancellation fifteen days from the date of change and requires the new entity to submit an initial application and meet all requirements for licensure.

Each licensee must notify the department within fifteen days of any changes in the current mailing address, home address, home and/ or office telephone number.

Burglar and Fire Alarm Business Contractors

To qualify for licensure, an entity shall file a written application on forms approved by the Board (available on this website) and include the following:

  1. Fee
  2. Certificate of Liability Insurance listing the SC Contractors' Licensing Board as Certificate Holder
  3. Technical Examinations Score Sheet(s) and Code of Laws Score Sheets from PSI
  4. Completed Document 130 (Initial License Application) including NTS Level I certificate of completion for burglar alarms and fire alarms or NICET Level II certificate of completion for fire alarms
  5. Criminal background check for the entity's principal officers, all qualifying parties, and registered employees for all states in which the individual has lived within the past 10 years

All applicants must designate a Primary Qualifying Party who is an owner, partner, or officer of a burglar alarm system business, or a full-time employee holding a management position. A certificate of comprehensive general liability insurance providing for the following minimum coverage: one hundred thousand dollars due to bodily injury, death, or destruction of property as the result of the negligent act or acts of the principal insured. The policy must be purchased from an insurer or licensed agent authorized to do business in this state.
All burglar alarm system business branch offices are required to submit an application, certificate of liability insurance and separate license fee for each location.  The branch office license authorizes the branch office to conduct business under the name of the licensed entity (main office).  The licensed entity (main office) must apply for the branch office license prior to opening the branch office and must not conduct business from the branch office until the application has been approved by the department and a license number has been issued for the branch office.  Each burglar alarm system business branch office doing business in this State must have a primary qualifying party assigned to that branch office location exclusively.  This primary qualifying party may not be a primary qualifying party for any other business location.

Fire Sprinkler Contractor

To qualify for licensure, an entity shall file a written application on forms approved by the Board (available on this website) and include the following:

  1. Fee
  2. Certificate of Liability Insurance listing the SC Contractors' Licensing Board as Certificate Holder
  3. Proof of current NICET level III or IV Technician Certificate in "Fire Protection Engineering Technology Automatic Sprinkler System Layout."
  4. Completed Document 145 (Application)

Each fire sprinkler contractor's main office or branch office must be separately licensed and have a primary qualifying party assigned exclusively to that location.  The name of the branch office must be the same name that appears on the licensee's license.

Any change that varies from the applicant's original application must be reported to the department within fifteen days from the date of the change.

Synergy Business Park; Kingstree Building
110 Centerview Dr.
Columbia, S.C. 29210
(803) 896-4300 | Office Hours: 8:30 a.m.- 5:00 p.,m.

Directions | Site Map | Privacy | Disclaimer | Customer Satisfaction Survey | Contact Us | Other Languages

The S.C. Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation is pleased to provide various publications in portable document format (PDF).
You will need Adobe Reader to view and print these publications.