boardhome
Today's Date:

Licensure Information
Licensee Lookup
Licensure with the Board
Applications and Forms
Fees
Education
FAQ
Renew Your License
Change Your Address
Application Status
Print copy of your license

Publications
Publications
Related Links

Complaint/Board Order Information
Board Orders
File a Complaint
What Can I Expect When a Complaint is Filed Against Me?


Board Information/Laws and Policies
Laws/Policies
FOIA Requests
Minutes
Board Members
Agendas
Board Meeting Calendar

Contact Us

Telephone: (803) 896-4686
Email: clbhelp@llr.sc.gov

Roger K. Lowe
Administrator

Rhonda Jackson
Program Coordinator

Kim Long
Administrative Assistant

Georgia Lewis
Advice Counsel

Tracy Gunter
Program Assistant

Chanda Davis
Administrative Assistant

Lee English
Administrative Assistant




South Carolina Contractor's Licensing Board

How to Apply for a General and Mechanical License

Applying for a License by Examinations

See Examinations to determine if a technical exam is required.

1.  To apply for a license, download the following:

  • The PSI Candidate Information Bulletin (PSI 800-733-9267)
  • Initial application, Doc #165
  • SC Code of Laws Take Home exam, Doc #170.
  • A financial statement is required. For general contractor's not bidding jobs over $100,000 or mechanical contractors not bidding jobs over $30,000, download the financial statement balance sheet, Doc #172. For larger jobs, an accountant must prepare your financials (see Doc #165 for more information).

2.  In the PSI Candidate Information Bulletin, select your exams and submit the registration form to them.

  • You must take a technical exam
  • You must take the Business Management and Law exam
  • Study material resources can be found on page 3 of the Candidate Information Bulletin

3.  After registering, you will receive an Eligibility Letter from PSI. Call the number at the bottom of the letter and schedule an appointment at the testing site of your choice.
4.  After you have passed both the PSI technical exam and Business Management & Law exam, submit the following to the SC Contractor’s Licensing Board:

  • Application, Doc #165 (entire application/all pages must be completed)
  • PSI technical exam score sheet
  • PSI Business Management & Law score sheet
  • SC Code of Laws Take Home Exam, Doc #170 answer sheet/signature page
  • Financial Statement (use Doc #172 for Groups 1 & 2 only; for Groups 3-5 use an accountant)
  • If you have registered your corporation, partnership, LLC with the S.C. Secretary of State, attach a copy of the certificate (optional)
  • License Fee

How to Apply for a License by Waiver


A technical examination must have been passed with one of the participating states listed below. The applicant must not have any outstanding complaints with any other licensing agency and all applicants must be currently licensed in good standing.

  • ALABAMA: Electrical
  • GEORGIA: Unrestricted Electrical = SC Electrical; Unrestricted Conditioned Air (if exam passed after 6/30/1980) = SC Air Conditioning and Heating
  • LOUISIANA: Building Construction = SC Building. Earthwork/Drainage/Levees (3 exams) = SC Grading. Concrete/Steel/Wood Bridges (3 exams) = SC Bridges. Asphalt Hot & Cold Plant Mix/Asphalt Surface Treatment (2 exams) = SC Asphalt Paving. Paved Highways/Concrete & Soil Treatment (2 exams) = SC Concrete Paving. Transmission Pipeline = SC Pipelines. Tunnels = SC Boring & Tunneling. Sewer/Storm Drains & Waterlines (2 exams) = SC Water & Sewer Lines. Filter Plants & Water Purification = SC Water & Sewer Plants. Industrial Piping = SC Pressure & Process Piping
  • MISSISSIPPI: Building. Electrical.
  • NORTH CAROLINA: Intermediate or Unlimited Electrical = SC Electrical. Roofing = SC Specialty Roofing. Building. Water & Sewer Lines. Water & Sewer Plants. Grading. Highway (if exam passed prior to 4/1/1999)
  • PENNSYLVANIA (Reading, PA ONLY): Mechanical/Electrical = SC Electrical
  • TENNESSEE: BC-b, BC-C = SC Limited Building. BC, BC-B, BC-BC = SC Unlimited Building. CMC/Mechanical = SC Air Conditioning, Refrigeration, and Plumbing. CMC-A = SC Plumbing. CMC-C = SC Air Conditioning and Refrigeration. CE = SC Electrical
  • TEXAS: Class A Air Conditioning/Refrigeration or Class A Air Conditioning = SC Air Conditioning and Heating. Class B Air Conditioning/Refrigeration or Class B Air Conditioning = SC Packaged Equipment. Class A Refrigeration = SC Refrigeration. Master Electrician = SC Electrical
  • UTAH: HVAC = SC Air Conditioning. Residential/Small Commercial = SC Limited Building (Groups 1-3). General Building = SC Unlimited Building (Groups 1-5). Master Electrician = Electrical. Excavation & Grading = SC Grading. Warm Air Heating = SC Heating. Refrigerated Air Conditioning = SC Packaged Equipment. Steel Erector = Structural Framing. Sewer & Waste Water Pipeline = SC Water & Sewer Lines. Concrete. Glass & Glazing. General Roofing. Refrigeration. Swimming Pools.
  • MUNICIPAL ASSOCIATION OF SOUTH CAROLINA (MASC): Master Electrical, or Master Plumber, if exams passed after 1/1/1990. Master Mechanical, if exam passed after 9/6/2013, = SC Air Conditioning, Heating, Packaged Equipment, and Refrigeration.
1. Request a Letter of Verification from your state licensing board listed above. The letter must include licensee name, license number, license issue date, license expiration date, name of exam qualifier and social security number, name of exam passed and date exam passed.
2. Applicants are required to pass the PSI Business Management & Law exam for South Carolina. Schedule the exam with PSI at 800-733-9267 or psiexams.com.
3. Applicants must pass the South Carolina Code of Laws Take Home Exam, Doc #170.
4. Submit the following to the SC Contractor’s Licensing Board:
  • Application, Doc #165 (do not have to complete Experience Affidavit page)
  • Letter of Verification from your state licensing board
  • PSI Business Management & Law score sheet
  • SC Code of Laws Take Home Exam, Doc #170 answer sheet/signature page
  • Financial Statement (use Doc #172 for Groups 1 & 2 only; use an accountant for Groups 3-5)
  • If you have registered your corporation, partnership, LLC with the S.C. Secretary of State, attach a copy of the certificate (optional)
  • License Fee

How to Apply for a Burglar/Fire Alarm License

1. Contact Psychological Services, Inc. (PSI) at (800) 733-9267 and request to take the South Carolina burglar and/or fire alarm exam, and the Alarm Code of Laws exam. Also, ask for the South Carolina Burglar/Fire Alarm Application packet to be mailed to you.

2. When you receive the application package, submit the registration form for your technical and Code of Law exams to PSI (see the Candidate Information Bulletin). A listing of reference materials and testing sites will be included.

3. You will receive an Eligibility Letter from PSI. Call the number at the bottom of the letter and schedule an appointment at the testing site of your choice.

4. After you have passed the technical and Code of Law exams, submit your completed application, Doc#130, for license to the S.C. Contractors' Licensing Board and include all of the following:

  • Fee
  • Certificate of Liability Insurance*
  • Technical and Code of Law Score Sheets
  • Criminal background check on the entity's principal officers and all qualifying parties
  • Verification of NTS Level I certification (burglar alarm)
  • Verification of NTS Level I certification or NICET Level II (fire alarm)

*The name on the certificate of liability insurance must read the same as the licensee and have the same address. The insurers affording coverage must be licensed to write insurance policies in South Carolina. The S.C. Contractors' Licensing Board must be listed as the certificate holder.

**Call the S.C. Alarm Association for testing information on NTS Level I at (803) 252-0580

How to Apply for a Fire Sprinkler License

1. Contact the S.C. Contractors' Licensing Board (803) 896-4686 and request a South Carolina Fire Sprinkler Application Package.

2. All qualifiers must be certified NICET Level III or above. After you have obtained the NICET Level III or above, submit your completed application, Doc#145 for license to the S.C. Contractors' Licensing Board and include all of the following:

  • Fee
  • Certificate of Liability Insurance*
  • Verification of NICET Level III or above**

*The name on the certificate of liability insurance must read the same as the licensee and have the same address. The insurers affording coverage must be licensed to write insurance policies in South Carolina. The S.C. Contractors' Licensing Board must be listed as the certificate holder.

**Go to the NICET website www.nicet.org or call (888) 476-4238 for NICET Level III certification information.

Synergy Business Park; Kingstree Building
110 Centerview Dr.
Columbia, S.C. 29210
(803) 896-4300 | Office Hours: 8:30 a.m.- 5:00 p.,m.

Directions | Site Map | Privacy | Disclaimer | Customer Satisfaction Survey | Contact Us | Other Languages

The S.C. Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation is pleased to provide various publications in portable document format (PDF).
You will need Adobe Reader to view and print these publications.