boardhome
Today's Date:
Board Meetings
          Calendar
          Agendas
          Minutes
          Board Members
Licensure
          Licensee Lookup
          Licensure with the Board
          Applications and Forms
          Fees
          Education
          FAQ
          Renew Your License
          Change Your Address
          Application status
          Print copy of your license
          Online Transfer
Information
          Laws and Policies
          Publications / News
          FOIA Requests
          Related Links
Complaints / Board Orders
          File a Complaint
          Board Orders
          What can I expect when a complaint
          is filed against me?
Contact Us
        Board Email:Contact.REC@llr.sc.gov
        Board Phone:(803) 896-4400
        Administrator:Rod Atkinson
        Board Staff:Ty'Yona Schofield, Education
        Board Staff:Joi Middleton, Education
        Advice Counsel:   Georgia Lewis   **
        Directions:110 Centerview Dr, Columbia SC

**The Office of Advice Counsel is responsible for
providing legal advice to all Boards, Commissions
and Panels. These attorneys do not provide legal
advice to parties outside LLR.

South Carolina Real Estate Commission

Facebook logo   Board News

Applications are processed in the order received and one must allow normal processing times (7 business days). Criminal and disciplinary history or application deficiencies will require additional time.

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK NOW REQUIRED:

A criminal background check is required of all applicants from a source approved by the Commission Pursuant to S.C. Code Section 40-57-115. Please visit the following link to obtain your SC Real Estate Commission criminal background check prior to submission of your application: http://llr.sc.gov/recheck

THE ANSWERS TO YOUR COMMON QUESTIONS:

Do you have a question regarding licensing or renewals? Before you contact us, look below to see if your question is answered in the licensing and renewal FAQ documents.

CONTINUING EDUCATION (CE) REQUIREMENTS AND REPORTING:

The South Carolina Real Estate Commission’s licensing law now requires that CE completion be reported to a database by our providers. The Commission will also begin full CE tracking and Auditing.

In order to simplify your license renewal process and CE verification, South Carolina Real Estate Commission has partnered with CE Broker as their official CE tracking system.

Through this partnership you have access to a free Basic Account. This account provides you an easy way to track your CE online and simplifies maintenance of your CE records and completion certificates. We urge all Salesperson, Broker, and Broker in Charge licensees to sign up for accounts with CE Broker.

For SC resident licensed Salespersons, Broker’s and Broker in Charge who are not CE exempt, the following CE requirements apply for “ACTIVE” renewal:

  • Ten (10) hours of biennial continuing education will be required for broker and salesperson licensees including 4 hour mandatory core course. (*Will begin with licenses which expire June 30th 2018)
  • Brokers in Charge will have an additional mandatory 4 hour CE class out of their 10 hours in addition to the mandatory core course. (*Will begin with licenses which expire June 30th 2018)

For a full list of CE Requirements, exemptions, and information on signing up for CE Broker please review the documents below:


IMPORTANT NOTICE TO APPLICANTS REGARDING QUALIFYING EDUCATION LICENSING LAW CHANGES:

FOR SALES APPLICANTS COMPLETING SC PRE-LICENSING COURSEWORK AND EXAM
Effective January 1, 2017 no more "provisional" sales licenses will be issued due to a change in the licensing law. If you have taken the 60 hour Unit I Sales course and salesperson examination but have not applied for licensure, you must complete the additional 30 hours of "Unit II: Advanced Real Estate Principles" (formerly as post-licensing) education prior to being issued a full sales license.

FOR SC RESIDENT APPLICANTS WITH LICENSES IN OTHER JURISDICTIONS:

Also effective January 1, 2017, resident applicants with licenses in other jurisdictions who have been residents for more than 6 months cannot qualify to take the S.C. examination with just a certification of licensure from another jurisdiction. The resident applicant will need to also take the following pre-licensing education:

  • For a Salesperson exam applicant, a SC resident (for more than 6 months) with a license in another jurisdiction who will have to take Unit II: Advanced Real Estate Principles class (30 hours)
  • For a Broker exam applicant, a SC resident (for more than 6 months) with a broker license in another jurisdiction will have to take Broker Unit IIIA and Broker Unit IIIB classes (60 hours)


REAL ESTATE LICENSE LAW REVISION: EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2017

A revision of the South Carolina Real Estate Licensing law (S.1013/Act.170) was signed into law on May 23, 2016. The new license law will take effect on January 1st, 2017. There are multiple changes which will affect licensees or applicants.

  • Ten (10) hours of biennial continuing education will be required for broker and salesperson licensees including 4 hour mandatory core course. (*Will begin with licenses which expire June 30th 2018)

  • Brokers in Charge will have an additional mandatory 4 hour CE class out of their 10 hours in addition to the mandatory core course. (*Will begin with licenses which expire June 30th 2018)

  • Sales initial licensure applicants will have to complete 90 hours of pre-licensing education prior to being issued a license. There will no longer be a one year "provisional" license issued after completing 60 hours and passing the exam. Applicant must complete the additional 30 hours prior to issuance of a full sales license.

  • Applicants who are non-residents and licensees of other jurisdictions will have to submit a certification of licensure from their licensed jurisdiction and apply to take the South Carolina sales or broker exam. South Carolina resident applicants will be required to take the South Carolina qualifying pre-licensing courses.

  • To become a Property Manager in Charge, applicants will need to complete a 7 hour PMIC class in addition to the 30 hour Property Management pre-licensing course.

There are many other updates, including reporting of contact information and residency changes, marketing and disclosure duties, teams, transaction brokerage, personal transactions involving licensees, and consequences of denial or revocation of licensure.

There are also NEW FORMS AND FORM LANGUAGE that will need to be implemented January 1st, 2017. Links to these forms are below:

  1. South Carolina Disclosure of Real Estate Brokerage Relationships (formerly Agency Disclosure Brochure)
  2. Offer Rejection Form (New form must be used when seller rejects an offer without counteroffer)
  3. Required Language for S.C. Listing, Buyer Representation and Transaction Brokerage Contracts
  4. Transaction Broker Agreement Template (Not a required or official document)

Here is a link to the final version of Act.170 as passed: http://www.scstatehouse.gov/sess121_2015-2016/bills/1013.htm

Here is a link to a PDF that outlines many of the significant 2017 changes to the licensing law: 2017 Real Estate Commission New License Law Changes Outline


EFFECTIVE 8/1/13
(instructions revised 6/1/17):
NEW South Carolina Residential Property Condition Disclosure Statement

Other information:



Disclaimer of Liability

With respect to any information found on this website, neither the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation or any of its employees, makes any warranty, express or implied, including the warranties of merchantability and fitness for a particular purpose, or assumes any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, completeness, or usefulness of any information, apparatus, product, or process disclosed, or represents that its use would not infringe privately owned rights.


Synergy Business Park; Kingstree Building
110 Centerview Dr.
Columbia, S.C. 29210
(803) 896-4300 | Office Hours: 8:30 a.m.- 5:00 p.m.
Privacy | Disclaimer | Other Languages | Report State Agency Fraud (Office of the Inspector General)