Today's Date:

Licensure Information
Licensee Lookup
Licensure with the Board
Applications and Forms
Renew Your License
Change Your Address
Application Status
Print copy of your license

Related Links

Complaint/Board Order Information
Board Orders
File a Complaint
What Can I Expect When a Complaint is Filed Against Me?

Board Information/Laws and Policies
FOIA Requests
Board Members
Board Meeting Calendar

Contact Us

Telephone: (803) 896-4588

Theresa Richardson

Mary League
Advice Counsel to the Board

**The Office of Advice Counsel is responsible for
providing legal advice to all Boards, Commissions
and Panels, as well as their administrative staff.
These attorneys do not provide legal advice to
parties outside LLR.

South Carolina Board of Cosmetology

Untitled Document

Online Application Instructions Instructions for Cosmetologist, Esthetician and Nail Technician Licensure Through Endorsement

Read Instructions Carefully Before Completing Application

You will need to upload or supply the below information before your application can be processed.

  • Provide a copy of two forms of ID; One current Photo (1 ½ by 1 ¼) such as a social security card, birth certificate, certificate of naturalization, student ID, drivers license or passport.
  • You must provide proof of 10th grade or greater education. All foreign applicants educated outside the United States MUST use one of the credentialing services listed below to translate foreign documents:

1. Education Credential Evaluators (414) 289-3400 (
2. International Consultants of Delaware (215) 222-8454 (

  • Submit evidence of having completed a 10th grade education or greater. You may attach a copy of your high school diploma, GED or high school transcript showing you completed the 10th grade.
  • You must have a current license in order to submit an application for endorsement. If your license is not current, you must make it current before applying to SC for endorsement. Submit official licensure verification from the state where you have successfully passed the National Interstate Council (NIC) examination both written and practical. The verification should be mailed directly to this office. The verification must include the State seal and must reflect if you have taken a state exam or a nationally recognized exam. We will not accept an original or a copy of your license as proof of certification.
  • Submit verification of education / training from the beauty school you attended. You may submit a school transcript showing you successfully completed the appropriate number of classroom hours for graduation. Number of hours per license are listed below:

(a) Cosmetology 1500 hours
(b) Esthetician 450 hours
(c) Nail Technician 300 hours

  • Pay the application/license fee in the amount of $60 you may use a credit card or check. APPLICATION FEE IS NON-REFUNDABLE

Your application will not be considered for licensure until the Entire packet is complete. If the application is incomplete you will be notified by mail. Please allow up to 14 business days for processing from the date the application was received in this office. Once your application is processed, you may check on the application status using our online services at:

From the online application option select Cosmetology for the Division and then the proper application you are applying for Cosmetology; Esthetician; or Nail Technician.

Synergy Business Park; Kingstree Building
110 Centerview Dr.
Columbia, S.C. 29210
(803) 896-4300 | Office Hours: 8:30 a.m.- 5:00 p.m.

Directions | Site Map | Privacy | Disclaimer | Customer Satisfaction Survey | Contact Us | Other Languages
Report State Agency Fraud (Office of the Inspector General)

The S.C. Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation is pleased to provide various publications in portable document format (PDF).
You will need Adobe Reader to view and print these publications.