South Carolina Board of Barber Examiners
The State of South Carolina General Assembly recently passed a Law requiring regulation of persons practicing hair braiding.
Individuals wishing to practice hair braiding are required to hold a hair braiding registration. Current cosmetologists or barbers are exempt, and are not required to hold a separate braiding registration.
To obtain a registration to practice hair braiding in the State an individual is required to:
- Pay a twenty-five ($25) registration fee for a two (2) year registration, prior to attending the class. Click here for an application Hair Braiding Application. All checks or money orders must be made payable to: State Board of Barber Examiners.
- Successfully complete a six (6) hour board approved braiding course, and
- Pass a 25 question multiple-choice examination administered by the South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (LLR).
- Submit the application and $25 fee to the address listed below:
- You will be notified in writing when and where thee class is held.
LLR-Barber Examiners Board
PO Box 11329
Columbia, South Carolina 29211-1329
LLR, in conjunction with the State Board of Barber Examiners, offers the (6) six hour training, at our office located at Synergy Business Park, Kingstree Building, 110 Centerview Drive, Columbia, South Carolina.
The training topics include: S.C. Rules and Regulations, sanitation, safety, OSHA requirements and other items required for registration. Sign in begins at 8:30 a.m. Training is expected to last until approximately 4:00 p.m.
While the training itself is free, attendees are required to complete and submit the Application for Hair Braiding Registration, pay the $25 fee prior to registration, and pass the exam.
Once your application is approved, you will be mailed an admission letter for the class. (You must bring the admissions letter with you the day of the class.)
All checks or money order must be made payable to the State Board of Barber Examiners.