South Carolina Board of Accountancy
Section 40-2-240 states:
Licensing of persons licensed in another state.
(A) The board may issue a license to a holder of a certificate, license, or permit issued under the laws of any state or territory of the United States or the District of Columbia or any authority outside the United States upon a showing of substantially equivalent education, examination, and experience upon the condition that the applicant:
(1) received the designation, based on educational and examination standards substantially equivalent to those in effect in this State, at the time the designation was granted; and
(2) completed an experience requirement, substantially equivalent to the requirement provided for in Section 40-2-35(F), in the jurisdiction which granted the designation or has engaged in four years of professional practice, outside of this State, as a certified public accountant within the ten years immediately preceding the application; and
(3) passed a uniform qualifying examination in national standards and an examination on the laws, regulations, and code of ethical conduct in effect in this State acceptable to the board; and
(4) listed all jurisdictions, foreign and domestic, in which the applicant has applied for or holds a designation to practice public accountancy or in which any applications have been denied; and
(5) demonstrated completion of eighty hours of qualified CPE within the last two years; and
(6) filed an application and pays an annual fee sufficient to cover the cost of administering this section.
(B) Each holder of a certificate issued under this section shall notify the board in writing within thirty days after its occurrence of any issuance, denial, revocation, or suspension of a designation or commencement of a disciplinary or enforcement action by any jurisdiction.
Regulation 1-04 states:
The holder of a certificate, license, or permit issued under the laws of any state or territory of the US or any authority of the US may demonstrate substantially equivalent education and experience by:
(A) Documenting four (4) years of professional practices outside of South Carolina within ten (10) years immediately preceding the application; or
(B) Documenting the current education and experience requirements in effect in this State as set forth in 40-2-35; or
(C) Documenting that the education requirements for the certificate, license, or permit from another jurisdiction were the same as the requirements in South Carolina on the date of original licensure.
To apply for reciprocity complete and submit the following items:
Reciprocity Application (Form 2103).
Payment of $50 in the form of a check or money order made out to: SC Board of Accountancy must accompany initial application.
Official University/College Transcripts (no copies or faxes)(If needed, see instructions on Reciprocity Application).
Authorization of Interstate Exchange & Licensure Information (Form 2106); to be partially completed by licensee then sent to licensing board from where you are basing your reciprocity.
Verification that you have passed the Professional Ethics: The AICPA's Comprehensive Course with a score of 90 or better. (AICPA will forward scores)(Only complete course if your original license was issued less than four years ago).
Your reciprocity license must be renewed by January 1st of every year. CPE is not required to be reported for those granted reciprocity in the current year. 40 hours of CPE must be completed by December 31st of all subsequent years and hours must be reported with renewal. (See Education)